The band was formed in June 1980 by school friends, in Luanda, the capital of Angola.
The core members of the band are Ket Hagaha, Tubarao, Gato, and Groovy.

The band was the forerunner of modern Angolan music and found an original style - “KILAPANGA” - which is a fusion of a variety of ethnic rhythms (like Kuduru and Semba) from South East Africa combined with pop, funk and reggae.
This combination made for a unique style and sound and won the Band many followers.
Music specialists acknowledge that their style has had a major influence on the development of Angolan music today. Their repertoire includes a vast range of traditional a capella ballads in the old Angolan languages of Kibongo, Umbundu and Kimbundu, as well as the dance-like rhythms of “Sembessa” and “Mulata” which are well known in Angola.

In the beginning … Afra Sound Stars started out by doing beach concerts and playing different venues all over the country, bringing a wartime message of optimism which inspired the population.
Throughout the war years, Afra continued to set original melodies and lyrics to the beat of such irrepressible dance rhythms as semba, merengue, funk, reggae or samba, establishing their place as one of the country’s top bands.

AFRA SOUND STARS participated in the Central Africa Games in 1981.

In Brazil …

From 1986 to 1989, the Band was based in in Brazil, where they rapidly became stars in their own right, formally acclaimed by the number one Brazilian TV channel O Globo as best African band.
At the Afro-Bahian Carnival in Salvador de Bahia, they shared the stage with Gilberto Gil.
They also performed regularly with such international artists as Djavan, Olodum, Martinho da Vila and Abel Duere (with whom they recorded Criolinha in 1988).

In Portugal and Angola …

Afra Sound Stars also toured and recorded with fellow Angolan musicians, including Bonga, with whom they recorded Diaka in 1990 and Gingonça in 1991 during their stay in Portugal (from 1990 to 1994). Another immensely popular Angolan artist, Raul Ouro Negro, recorded Meninos de Oura with them in 1992.

In Belgium …

On arrival in Belgium in 1994 they signed with the record company “Crossover Production” and released their fifth album, Soke Soke, considered their best album and sold in many countries in Europe and beyond. From 1994 to 2000 the Band played numerous shows in Belgium as well as Italy, France, Germany and Canada.

More recently …

In the early 2000s, Afra Sound Stars decided to have a break enabling its members to undertake new projects after more than 20 years’ work together.
They released a final album in 2008: « Naçao Musica » .
In April 2012, they were invited to Luanda to inaugurate the « Weza Paradise complexo turístico », followed by a national tour in August.


Ket Hagaha, co-founder of the Band, released his first solo album «Afra ‘ando » in December 2012. This album is a collection of all his best known songs, also played by the Band during its heyday.
The album is a gift to his fans and a tribute to the band’s achievements.


  • 1986 Afra Sound Stars (Angola)
  • 1991 Saparam (Portugal)
  • 1992 Ydebele (Portugal)
  • 1993 Absaite (Portugal)
  • 1995 Soke Soke (Belgium)
  • 2008 Naçao Musica (Angola)